SS Cross Check BB width?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2005

New question here. SS Cross Check BB width?

I'm expecting my new XC frameset tomorrow and have a question about BB width. I am planning on building it as a single speed with A Surly new hub laced to a Salsa delgado cross rim on the rear. My question is what would be the approriate BB width for a proper chainline. The cranks are Sugino RD 175s (48t). I'm a newbie so any help will be great.

mtbr member
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by jimcross
    I'm expecting my new XC frameset tomorrow and have a question about BB width. I am planning on building it as a single speed with A Surly new hub laced to a Salsa delgado cross rim on the rear. My question is what would be the approriate BB width for a proper chainline. The cranks are Sugino RD 175s (48t). I'm a newbie so any help will be great.
    I'm using Dura Ace cranks on mine in a single speed configuration and i had to use the widest octalink bb available (118mm i think). The bb setup was the most frustrating part of the build for me. Single speeds are supposed to be easy. I have minimal crank arm clearance.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005

I'll second that thought.

Quote Originally Posted by roseyscot
    I'm using Dura Ace cranks on mine in a single speed configuration and i had to use the widest octalink bb available (118mm i think). The bb setup was the most frustrating part of the build for me. Single speeds are supposed to be easy. I have minimal crank arm clearance.
    I'm running some Ultegra road cranks and I had to go with the 118mm spindle as well. I believe the cause is the flare of the chainstays to accomodate the larger tires. Normally a 113 or 110 would work OK but I had to go up 5mm on my XC. Just something to keep in mind...

I'd shoot the guys at Harris Cyclery a note on this: Sheldon and crew sell X-Check's and the Sugino cranks that you have; I'm sure they'll have the correct answer for you.

Not because I'm fast.....