Six months on a '10 Enduro, a reflection- Mtbr.com
    No Clue Crew
    Apr 2005

Six months on a '10 Enduro, a reflection

Background: I ride technical AZ gnar. I'm a modestly skilled tech rider, 41 years old, 6'2", 185. I do not shuttle; I pedal up all our local trails and bomb down. I've been riding awhile and have been fortunate enough to have owned several high-quality bikes, both 26ers and 29ers. Highlights would be a very nice C'dale Prophet, a Yeti 575 and I came off of a Horst-link Turner 6-Pack when I got the Enduro.

I bought the the size L Enduro last December fresh off the showroom floor from DNA Cycles here in Phoenix. I went for the Comp over the Expert due in part to color and in part because I preferred the single-air Lyric. I added a Command Post and was out the door with tax for $2,900, which I thought was very fair.

I'll get the obvious out of the way first: I love the bike as a whole. It's not perfect, but it's one of the better do-it-all options available today. The bike pedals well, it's pretty efficient for its weight and it absolutely slays it going down. The geometry is nearly perfect in my opinion. Slack enough to be stable, but still quick enough around the switchbacks. The bike responds better to body english and weighting the pedals vs. too much bar input.

The front end is light and reacts as you'd expect with radical weight transfer, particularly way off the back end for roller drops. As you can imagine, steep ups on a 160mm non-adjustable fork requires a change in riding technique.

My technical riding has grown by leaps and bounds on this bike. Some is just natural progression, but some credit certainly goes to the neutral, forgiving nature of the rig itself. Honestly, I felt faster on the Turner, but my main riding bud says he thinks I'm much smoother and faster on the Spec. and the climbs are no contest in favor of the Enduro.