mtbr member
    Jun 2008

hollow link rubs on frame at pivots, CREAK!

Another creaky one here, 06 SWORKS STUMPY. Rear susp pivots. The creak comes from the hollowlink rubbing on the frame right at the pivots? I can see metal to metal wear between link and frame under bolts. Maybe little copper slips get squeezed/wornout a mm too flat? These pivots get hammered by tire debris right there, really hard to keep them lubed. Every ride I need to relube the suspension pivots? Good thing I am a mechanic! I cant imagine taking it to lbs as much as it is on my stand. The lube jobs last about 1/2 day ride then creak again.

thinking about taking a little metal off of the pivot with sander

The frame has no warranty at this point.... ebay

ANY SOLUTIONS TO HOLLOWLINK RUBBING ON FRAME?

mtbr member
    Jun 2008

pictures of problem

here are some pictures of my depressing problem.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Is It The Frame Or The Link ?

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Are you sure you have the right spacers? They should be alloy not copper, replacements should be readily available. The manual shows the parts, it is available online. These parts should not be rubbing, could the bearings be installed incorrectly? I would try to verify you have the right spacers first.

mtbr member
    Dec 2005
    Also, the width of the spacrs is specified as 2 mm.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    The spacers are just copper in color, they are actually alloy on closer inspection. Caliper reads 2mm

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Bearings seem to be pressed in evenly...

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    Is this the 2006 frame with the 2007 AFR Brain? Have you read this thread regarding the missing bushing, too-small reducer and wrong bolt in the lower shock eyelet? I see you've removed the bolt in one of your pics, so you're probably aware and had already fixed that problem.

http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=305419)

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    solara-