mtbr member
    Jan 2018

Best Setup/Tires for South Florida Trail Parks?

Hello all,
    I started riding the South Florida Trails Parks recently, mainly Virginia Key, Amelia and Markham.
    What is the best setup for those Trails/Parks?
    Iím interested in learning about the tires (brand, model and size) used for those conditions.
    Thanks in advance.

mtbr member
    Nov 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by j102 View Post
    Hello all,
    I started riding the South Florida Trails Parks recently, mainly Virginia Key, Amelia and Markham.
    What is the best setup for those Trails/Parks?
    Iím interested in learning about the tires (brand, model and size) used for those conditions.
    Thanks in advance.
    What are you riding?

On my 29er hardtail, I run Maxxis Ardent Race 2.35 up front with a Ikon 2.2 rear

My 27.5 Trance has Nobby Nic front, Racing Ralph back, 2.25 both.

The TCX has Maxxis Ramblers on both ends, 40mm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jan 2018

Quote Originally Posted by ApolloMike View Post
    What are you riding?

On my 29er hardtail, I run Maxxis Ardent Race 2.35 up front with a Ikon 2.2 rear

My 27.5 Trance has Nobby Nic front, Racing Ralph back, 2.25 both.

The TCX has Maxxis Ramblers on both ends, 40mm.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    For the Parks Iím running my Rockhopper Pro with the Specialized Ground Control tires (2.3 front and 2.1 rear).
    2.3 front/rear is the maximum size for that bike. Iím looking at replacing the 2.1 rear tire with a 2.3 tire. Or maybe both tires, with one of the Maxxis models.
    Last edited by j102; 03-31-2018 at 08:35 PM.

mtbr member
    Jan 2018
    Anyone else?

mtbr member
    May 2006
    I run a 2.6 nobby nic front and 2.6 rocket Ron rear. Mostly riding Alafia. These work really well and the 2.6s roll much better in the softer sand than the 2.35s I had before.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Jan 2018