Are you faster on a single speed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2009

Are you faster on a single speed?

I have been riding and racing a single speed for many years now and I truly love it (it feels the most natural to me). During this time I have built several geared bikes, both hard tails and full suspension all very nice high end builds. Every time I build a new bike I do direct comparisons with the single speed that I am riding at that time and every time I am faster on my single speed. Obviously on single track, not double track or road because who really cares about that crap anyway. Not only am I faster I feel less fatigued on the single speed. I live in Maine and our trails are fairly technical with plenty of roots and rocks so in theory and according to all my friends the FS should be faster, but I just canít make it happen.

Am I the only one? Thoughts...?

Low speed, High Drag
    Well, I have set more PR's on STRAVA with my single speed, but my other bike is a 150mm travel, 32 pound beast.

But, I do get around our trails a lot faster on my SS. It also gets me in shape faster, since it doesn't allow me to be lazy!!
    I need a cool saying to put here.

mtbr member
    A) I have nothing to compare it to, and
    B) progress on my riding is measured in smiles, not speed.

mtbr member
    Depends on trail

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by claystrick View Post
    Depends on trail

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    True, I am referring to a pedaly XC single track not a gnarly down hill run.

Trail Gnome
    No Iím not. I tried one once...I had to walk all of the tech sections; single speed is not for me.

Always in the wrong gear

Are you faster on a single speed?

All day.

Iíll admit. It might well be solely due to familiarity. Iíve ridden a 29+ singlespeed with a 100 or 120mm fork as my only bike for like 4 years now. Iím very comfortable on it.