will ya help a newbie out? Choosing SS 29er MTB- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2008

will ya help a newbie out? Choosing SS 29er MTB

Hi folks. I lurked and lurked, and decided to ask for help. They say it's one of the first steps, then admitting there is a higher power... Wait, wrong forum, never mind...
    I am new to riding, and looking to have a pleasant way to stay in shape on the trails in MD and DC. After owning a relatively cheap geared bike that I failed to properly maintain (I think) I want a no-nonsense tough bike with minimum maintenance and that I would not have to baby too much. So, after some research it came down to trying to go with a SS MTB. Looked around a bit, and I think the choices on bikesdirect are the way to go.
    Now noob that I am, it's tough to decide between them. For whomever doesn't know this line-up, I have it narrowed down to:

- Motobecane Outcast: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...tcast29_08.htm
    - SE Stout 29er: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/se/stout.htm
    - Windsor Cliff 29.1: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/..._cliff29_1.htm
    - Dawes DeadEye: http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/dawes/deadeye.htm

So, can I kindly get some guidance? Things that I don't know, being new to this: is a CrMo frame better than Al for my purpose (sturdy and straightforward)? Do disk brakes make the bike heavier than V's? Are the components on these bikes (cranks, pedals, brakes) comparable, or should my choice be guided by some significant differences you see?
    I will use the bike mostly on trails (some of them get fairly rough) with limited off-roading, and I will also ride it on paved roads. I want something I get on and go, worrying more about my riding than anything else. I do want to stay as light as I can, but I know at this price and for what I want we are still talking about moderate weights. I'm in decent shape, but not a true rider (although hoping to get there).