Why are SS'ers so damn fast?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Why are SS'ers so damn fast?

Background:

I raced my first MTB race in over 18 years last weekend. It was a 3 hour "endurance" race on a local trail that I know very, very well. I had two bike choices for this inaugural race: my Yeti ASR-5 and my Niner One9 SS. I just started riding SS this year and have put far miles on my SS than my geared bike so far. That, combined with finding out that the course bypassed the two toughest climbs on the trail, convinced me to ride my SS.

So I arrive at race-day registration and have several options for which class to register for:

Novice (no age groups)
    50+ Base
    50+ Sport
    50+ Expert
    Singlespeed (no age groups)

It seemed a bit goofy to ride SS and not race the SS category but, having just turned 50, the lack of age groups made pushed me away from SS. Given that I hadn't raced a bike in 18 years, I went with 50+ base.

I ended up winning that small class (10 riders) and realized I should have gone 50+ Sport. But with nothing to compare against, I was guessing.

Then I did some digging around...I looked at all the other categories to see where I would have finished. I looked at those SS times and those guys were some of the fastest guys on the course. What the hell? I would have finished 8/17 or something like that had I raced SS.

when I posed this question in the Endurance XC racing forum, the best response was that SS'ers are "young and angry" and that's why they are so fast.

LOL...but there's got to be more to it than that. A SS bike is rarely an advantage in a race, as far as I can see...other than a few pounds of weight. But it's almost always a disadvantage (usually in the 'wrong' gear). I really only noticed the disadvantages on the flats where I couldn't downshift.

But what makes SS'ers so fast on a potentially inferior bike?

mtbr member
    Because ss riders get laid more often.
    Signature

mtbr member