Why does the grass almost always seem greener?...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Wink Why does the grass almost always seem greener?...

Hi guys and Happy Easter to all of you!

Now don't get me wrong, I'm a SS'er through and through and that ain't going to change!

I've been riding SS for about 4 years now and currently have a Soul Cycles Hooligan which I really enjoy riding, it has the measure of bikes I've had costing far more money and really is the most fun I've swung my leg over since Mrs. J! However...

Why am I considering buying into gears and suspension again?!! I'm seriously considering buying an Intense Tracer, an Orange Blood or an Orange Crush. Two FSers and the latter a HT with just front suspension. See for the past 4 years I've mainly been riding on my own, but recently I've started riding with an old riding buddy who is on FS with gears. Obviously it's got me thinking back to the shred days of old, where we'd rip downhills with our FS bikes, spinning out at much higher speeds, spinning in the granny ring up the big hills and taking stupid lines just because we could!

I know my SS will remain my primary bike, I just love the purity of it and the smile it gives me, like a giant BMX. But why oh why am I considering spending over 3000 on a bike that I might ride once a month?

Another option is to just buy some Reba's or Fox forks for it, along with a 1 x 9 setup for when I'm out with the geary crew, but I don't know if I can be ar5ed with the hassle of setting up the bike differently.

Do all SS converts go through this temporary relapse into insanity/sanity?! It seems to me like a green grass scenario, my head has been turned again, I feel like such a man whore, but I can't help thinking that I need this new bike in my life... Do I? Or do I just need help?!...

Jesse James, Tiger Woods, what's the name of your therapists?!!!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Just J
    Hi guys and Happy Easter to all of you!