When is a chain ring done?- Mtbr.com
    Retro Grouch

New question here. When is a chain ring done?

I've been riding bikes for over 30 years and I still don't know. I've got a chain ring on one of my road bikes that's over 15 years old. I did wear out a couple of MTB granny gears, years ago when I ran gears, but on my single speed bikes its hard to tell. Here's the Spot I'm running now. It's gone through 3 chains (the one on it now is toast), but I turned it around after the second and after a little bit of grinding at first, it seems to be working fine.

The second photo is of an old Truvativ chain ring I ran for about a year. I never turned it around and you can see the shark fin effect. Can I just turn this around and use it again? What do you think?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Steamroller

Multiple choice

Hi Brad, I've asked this question at two SS savy bike shops. One said run it till it skips then turn it around and repeat. The other said about 300-500 miles on an SS bike depending on how good it was to start with and how big you are. I think I liked answer # 1 better, don't replace it while it's working fine.
    Two Wheeled and Too Big

Medium?

I dunno, but more than 300-500 miles

I must have a couple thousand on the ring I have now. I've rotated it, but I've never flipped it over. I suppose it might be steel. I'll have to check.

cut like the fog.

1.5 seasons

And more than a few hundred miles on my Jericho Suffering. It's starting to get relatively pitted in between the teeth but still churns just fine. It's hard-anodized aluminum.

I have replaced rings when the chain would snag in between the teeth before I put the suffering on.

b.

Tom
    where are the roots?