What would YOU buy...- Mtbr.com
    FixMeUp!

What would YOU buy...

So, fellow singlespeeders, here is my story...

I have been riding a medium Santa Cruz Chameleon SS for about 3 years. I really like the ride, but it has always been a little large for me. Since it came cheap and was my mud beater, I didn't care. The other issue I have is the lack of a rear disc brake tab... now that my friends have labeled it "The Mullet", I have to get rid of it.

So, now I want to buy a new steel SS specific frame, and I don't wan't to spend more than $500. It's gotta be fast and fun, for XC style riding, and very stable at high speeds, some jumping too. So what would you buy?
    "Only after the last tree has been cut down.Only after the last river has been poisoned. Only after the last fish has been eaten. Only then will you find that money cannot be eaten". Cree Indian saying

mtbr member
    Jun 2005

1x1

I would get the surly 1x1. I have one, the ride is real nice, the frame seems pretty durable, plus you have the option to run real wide tyres. If you watch real careful like, you could probably pick up an entire used bike for less than the 500 clams,

FixMeUp!

Thanks....

Next Question...

Is it at all a pain to set up a rear disc with horizontal dropouts?
    I slippage a factor?
    "Only after the last tree has been cut down.Only after the last river has been poisoned. Only after the last fish has been eaten. Only then will you find that money cannot be eaten". Cree Indian saying

Rusting Steel

I second the 1x1

I've not had any issues with my 1x1 running discs. I run 34x18 most of the time and have the brake setup so that I don't have to mess with it to remove the wheel. The further the axel is forward into the drop though, the more likely it is you'll have to loosen the caliper to get the wheel on and off. YMMV

I've also not had any slippage issues running CK hubs and bolts.

just another bleepin SSer
    Quote Originally Posted by TamJunkie