What would be the best choice? SS vs. Geared- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2012

What would be the best choice? SS vs. Geared

Okay so I have read the SS FAQ and understand it is a personal preference, but also based on the area you will be riding in. I have up to around $600 to spend on a bike and would possibly prefer a SS for the simplicity and challenge possibly, but I live in south florida and would only be going to Markham park.
    Video - MTB Florida | Markham Park (2011) - YouTube
    But my real question is would this 2012 Monocog Flight 29er here (comes with a few upgrades shown in the description)
    2012 REDLINE MONOCOG FLIGHT 29er 17" medium... mint condition! UPGRADES | eBay

Be a better choice than the new 2013 Monocog 29er?
    REDLINE BICYCLES MTB 2013 MONOCOG 29ER

I am not very experienced with riding mountain bikes, but I have ridden alot in the past in areas like Lake Tahoe and other parts of Nevada/California.

So is SS really for me?
    Thanks!

meh... whatever
    i'd say buy the used one and RIDE. it's in great shape and has some nice goodies. plus, if you don't like it and want to sell you'll be out very little coin whereas if you like it and keep riding it you got a great bike cheap.

imho the used one is clearly a win/win no matter how it works out.
    "Knowledge is good." ~ Emil Faber

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by monogod View Post
    i'd say buy the used one and RIDE. it's in great shape and has some nice goodies. plus, if you don't like it and want to sell you'll be out very little coin whereas if you like it and keep riding it you got a great bike cheap.

imho the used one is clearly a win/win no matter how it works out.