what gear ratio is right for me?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2004

what gear ratio is right for me?

Anyone know of any web page that has a singlespeed gear ratio calculator for a rider's charachteristics? I mean like answer a questionaire and then be told what gear ratio you should be using? Or a table with that information?

Or can it only be figured out by trial and error? I'm new to SS and I ride a Fisher Rig with 32-18.....I guess if anything I would go lower, but it would be nice if there were some guidelines for what ratio I should be riding.

mtbr member
    Go with what works for you. I know guys who ride smooth rolling single track with 32:16 or 32:17 gearing. For steeper more technical riding, 32:18-20 seems to be the ticket. Basic ruler of thumb, if you cant spin smoothly and keep up your momentum, you're geared too high.

banned
    deleted content
    Last edited by 29Colossus; 03-22-2007 at 06:37 PM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006

just depends...

Yeah, I think it just depends on your style, terrain, fitenss, etc etc. Go with what is comfortable for you most of the time on most of the rides you do - cogs are generally cheap. Get a range of 'em and adjust as necessary.

Looking to Start Racing
    Quote Originally Posted by 29Colossus
    I think shiggy says:

"Gear for the climbs, and learn to spin."

It makes a lot of sense to me.

Well I haven't heard that said, and that makes alot of sense to me. But I fail to get the "learn to spin". You mean to basicly get used to the "pedaling like chocolate being chased by a fat kid"?

Guess I need to have a convo with Shiggy.
    Evolve or Die

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by ChubbyBiker
    Yeah, I think it just depends on your style, terrain, fitenss, etc etc. Go with what is comfortable for you most of the time on most of the rides you do - cogs are generally cheap. Get a range of 'em and adjust as necessary.
    which is kind of like running gears..

32 x 16.. unless your Lance