What do u carry?- Mtbr.com
    Rollin' a fatty Moderator

New question here. What do u carry?

Last night I was doing an urban ride alone and only took the cell phone with me. Guess what? Doing a climb my chain broke and I was stranded about 10 miles from home.

Another cyclist offered a chain tool but I couldn't use it because didn't had extra links with me. I had to call my wife and she eventually picked me up and this brings me to my original question.

What do you SSpeeders carry on urban or trail rides? I usually don't carry anything but after last night a multitool w chain tool and at least a couple of links will go with me from now on.

mtbr member
    Extra links...Hmmm...THANKS!

I am new to single speeding. In fact I am still waiting on parts to finish mine. However, I would have never thought to take extra links with me on an epic backwoods ride...until my chain broke that is.

uncompliant

Whatever's in the camelbak....

...nearly always comes with me, wherever. This usually means far too much stuff:

3 tubes (+ or - one or two depending on how up-to-date I am on patching)
    emergency blanket
    Multi tool (does everything)
    Multi hex key set (because it's easier to use)
    Spokey
    Tyre levers
    Patch kit
    Zip ties (2 sizes)
    Spare links to fit 3 chain sizes (ss, 8sp, 9sp - just in case)
    An old toestrap
    Some change (taped together in a bundle)
    A squished Powerbar
    Pump

It just seems easier to leave it all in the bag than worry that I've left something out!

I can probably add the hip flask my wife got me for my birthday to that too :-)

Jonathan

Quote Originally Posted by DiRt DeViL
    Last night I was doing an urban ride alone and only took the cell phone with me. Guess what? Doing a climb my chain broke and I was stranded about 10 miles from home.