Vermont 50 and a SS- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Vermont 50 and a SS

So I'm pretty much planning on bringing my Single to Vermont for the 50 miler. I've never done it before and I have very little info about the course.

Can anyone tell me it's not a good idea? I'm basically running a 2:1 and have a short travel fork.

I'll probably cross post in the other section to try to find a veteran

Thanks
    Shane

try driving your car less
    Quote Originally Posted by SKullman
    So I'm pretty much planning on bringing my Single to Vermont for the 50 miler. I've never done it before and I have very little info about the course.

Can anyone tell me it's not a good idea? I'm basically running a 2:1 and have a short travel fork.

I'll probably cross post in the other section to try to find a veteran

Thanks
    Shane
    i did it last year. 32:18. it was great! i posted something about it, try searching the archives, if the search function works. i walked some, but when i was walking, everyone else around me was walking, too.
    i am not going this year, my buddy is getting married that weekend.
    last year the overall winner was on a rigid SS.

great race! enjoy it!
    Only boring people get bored.

mtbr member

Fine SS course

Skullman --

I raced last year on a rigid singlespeed and it was great. I was running my usual 34-20, which left me spinny on the flats, of course, but well able to climb anything that I would on my geared bikes. 2:1 is too rich for my legs here in the Berkshires, but if that's what you're used to turning, it'll probably be fine. There are no super-long or technical climbs at the VT50, there are substantial dirt road sections, lots of doubletrack, and the singletrack is all flat to rolling.

I say there's no question at all, go for it. It's a singlespeed-friendly course. (Unlike, say, the Jay MTB race the day before yesterday, where I Suffered a Great Deal. And had a blast.)