Uneven Chain Tension- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Uneven Chain Tension

I'm kind of new to single speeding so there could be an obvious answer but I would be surprised if this is a common problem.

I tightened my chain by pulling the wheel back and now I've found that the tension in the chain varies depending on the crank position. If I turn the cranks backwards I can feel that during a portion of the circle it is more difficult to turn the crank. It is also visible that the chain is tighter during that part of the circle. The extra resistance is felt for about a quarter of the turn.

As far as I can tell by eyeballing, the wheel and the crank are straight, as is the chainline. The bike is a 2017 Kona Unit that I bought very slightly used about six months ago. It has less than 500 miles on it and hasn't been wrecked or otherwise damaged.

Any advice or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

One Gear
    There is usually some play between the crank bolts and the holes in the chainring. Set the chain tension based on the tightest spot in the crank circle. Mine does the same thing and has for 10 years.

Good luck

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

mtbr member
    Oct 2014
    Ah, so the chain ring is probably not exactly centered on the crank. That makes sense. I've been racking my brains trying to figure this out.

Thank you!

mtbr member
    No chainring is perfectly round. A good quality ring will be close, but there's always some variation. The way the ring is mounted can play a part as well. We all live with a tiny amount of variation, but if it's enough to allow the chain to derail, you probably need a new chainring.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by EverRed View Post
    Ah, so the chain ring is probably not exactly centered on the crank. That makes sense. I've been racking my brains trying to figure this out.

Thank you!