Time for some noob SS ?'s (chains, cogs, chainrings, etc)- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Time for some noob SS ?'s (chains, cogs, chainrings, etc)

Hey guys, sorry for some noob questions, but I am completely new to SS and am having trouble getting answers to all of this.

First, does it really make any difference what rear cog is selected? My bike is coming with an 18t Surly, and if I want it easier/harder, since Surly's are relatively cheap and readily available, does it matter that I don't go with a Niner, Endless, King, etc?

Second, if I am switching cogs, chain length will likely need to change (unless the EBB can fix the slack), and in that case, do you guys keep multiple chains around if you need a longer one often? Like, that is my 18t chain, that is my 20t chain, and so on? Lets use this scenario: I go visit my friend in CA, and bring my SS. He lives near Mt Diablo, and we are going to ride there. I will need different ratio's depending on the ride we do, so do I need to bring multiple cogs AND chains? Obviously with a masterlink it isn't the end of the world, but it is something to think about.