THinking about converting a bike to SS - questions!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

THinking about converting a bike to SS - questions!

A total newb to the SS world. Doing some research on doability and options.

I recently got a free bike from a coworker. It's a cro-mo '90s Raleigh M50 (Made in USA) in fairly good condition and with decent parts. It had been stored inside a garage for a number of years. Based on some Googling and looking at Bikepedia, I believe it's a '96 or '97 model, but I can't be sure. It has 21 speeds and cantilver brakes. This will be bike #5 All my bikes are geared, one with a 1x9 set-up. I already have a "beater" commuter/grocery-getter/city cruiser/errand runner/do-everything bike. This will be sort of a back-up for the beater, but I want it to be different to tell myself that I need this bike because I don't have [fill in the blank]. That's when I got the idea that this bike will be an SS. I'm also itching for a new project.

I want the conversion to be as cheap as possible (as in not having to buy too many new parts). So here's my main question. The bike comes with a Shimano Parallax rear hub that has a 7-spd cassette. I want to put in an SS conversion kit in the back. PricePoint has the Sette SS kit for $12 (cheapest by far). The thing that concerns me is that it says the kit is for 8/9-spd hubs. Most SS kits say that too. Since my hub has a 7-spd cassette, does this mean it won't work? I guess I could get spacers, but the Sette kit is the cheapest kit but only comes with two big spacers. Would I need an extra smaller spacer?

Now about the front ring. I plan to go cheap and keep the crankset and simply remove two of the rings. Do I keep the middle ring? I hope the granny gear can be removed, because I really want a clean look.

Bonus question! I want to swap the cantilever brakes for V-brakes. I have spare V-brake levers and all that stuff. Doable? I think the rear may pose a challenge though.

Bro
    Content from my avatar