mtbr member
    Nov 2007

theoretical question

I am new to Singlespeed riding. Been riding a couple of months now and I totally dig it. I'll probably never go back to gears. But there is one thing I don't quite understand. I was in a bike shop yesterday armed with a $75 gift card from my mother-in-law and looking like a total pigeon pecking for food. While grazing, I noticed a very sweet looking singlespeed Gary Fischer with a hefty price tag. I think it was an aluminum frame or some space age material of construction. What the **** do I know? Anyway, the bike had a big, honkin, front suspension fork. I thought to myself, why the need for suspension on a singlespeed? Isn't the whole theory behind singlespeed riding to keep momentum and carry as much speed as possible uphill? Stay lean and mean? I guess it would help on the downhill, especially in very rocky terrain, something we don't have much of in the mid atlantic. But wouldn't it suck the life out of you on the uphill?

I'll admit I've never really liked suspension, even when I rode geared bikes. But, I guess I think of singlespeed mountain biking in a purist way. Stripped bare to the essentials. Shedding the excess and clearing your head to focus on the ride. Using your mind, strength, and endurance to push you over the changing terrain rather than the aid of mechanics and air dampeners. That's what I like about it. That's the draw..... There's also the physics...but I'll leave that for another thread.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    i here you,i am not into shocks eather,its a bicycle not a motor cicyle.

but the thing is ,there are no rules to having fun. horsing around with most things is fun.

if some one wants a single speed with a shock a smart buisness man will make one.

if shocks are a trend the will capitalize on it if single speed is a trend they will capitalize on it.its all about the dollar to manufacturers.