Suspension Fork Recommendations...- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Suspension Fork Recommendations...

Hi

I have been riding rigid for about 3 years now, but I fancy a bit of a change, just to see what it feels like again.

However I've took my eye off the ball and have no idea who makes the best performing forks at the moment?

My bike is a rigid Soul Cycles Hooligan, they recommend 100mm forks I believe, but let me know what you guys think and what you recommend please?...

mtbr member
    Anybody?... Anyone?... :'(

trail hunter
    Apr 2008

Reba

for the money the Rock Shox Reba SL can not be topped.

local trails rider
    The Hooligan is a 26er, right?

Lots of fork choices out there. I think at least Rock Shox, Fox and Marzocchi do pretty good forks now. Marzocchi had their turn at a bad year in 2008, so you might be careful with that vintage. (I am happily using 'zocchis from 2004, or so)

Got any ideas on budget and what kind of features you want? Simple? Everything adjustable? Lock-out? Variable travel?

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by perttime
    Lots of fork choices out there. I think at least Rock Shox, Fox and Marzocchi do pretty good forks now. Marzocchi had their turn at a bad year in 2008, so you might be careful with that vintage. (I am happily using 'zocchis from 2004, or so)
    Yes on both Rock Shox and Fox. They both have their issues, but they're well known. Be careful as Fox doesn't make a low end fork, while Rock Shox does.

I would continue to stay away from Marzocchi. The past several years they had serious quality control issues. They say it's resolved for '10, but time will tell on that one. They also tend to be heavier, without as good damping.

mtbr member
    So far I have been looking at the Reba and the Float RLC Remotes, I used to own one of the first Rebas and was impressed with it and have owned Fox in the past also.