Surly 1 x 1 vs. Kona Unit- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Mar 2004

Surly 1 x 1 vs. Kona Unit

SS newbie here. Thinking of buying a 1 x 1 or a Unit for my first singlespeed. Pros/cons of each? Recommendations?

I used the search function without much luck, fwiw. Also, I was surprised there are no reviews for the 1 x 1.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by cyclesmith
    SS newbie here. Thinking of buying a 1 x 1 or a Unit for my first singlespeed. Pros/cons of each? Recommendations?

I used the search function without much luck, fwiw. Also, I was surprised there are no reviews for the 1 x 1.

Thanks.
    They fit differently, 1x1 is more "standard" geometry while the kona has a more sloped & longer TT. That just might be your deciding factor... it is for me, cuz I have a long torso/arms & a lack of inseam length, so it'd be Kona (or an on-one inbred... yummy!) for me.
    There's lots of threads on the topic of sliding dropouts vs horizontal dropouts... I've no opinion on these.
    well, there's a first whack at it anyway

mtbr member
    I just got a 1x1, I'm very happy with it. I didn't much like the fancy dropouts on the Unit. Can't open my beer bottle with it like I can with my Surly.

mtbr member

Beer Opener

Good point on the beer opener thing. That's why I installed a Pedros bottle opener on my Unit where my water bottle cage used to be. It's working out fine.

mtbr member
    1x1. Just got one and I couldn't be happier.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    I have a 1x1 too, it's lovely.

I've heard about Kona dropouts slipping in the frame and people replacing the allen bolts with large, more industrial looking bolts to get everything a lot more secure.

Hope this Helps.

The devil is an angel too
    Mar 2005
    I just got a 1x1 and I also have a Kona hardtail (an aluminum 2001 one). I don't think that Kona's geometry has changed that much over the years, so it will do.