suping up a redline monocog!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2004

suping up a redline monocog!

anyone have an grand ideas about how to make my redline monocog better?im a noob at this stuff.just bought some specialized armadillo tires for the street ,have decent rims.i love my bike and wanna upgrade from stock.any help or ideas would be great thanks for your time.

formerly Giantxc
    Depends on your definition of "better."

If you mean for XC style riding I'd say a lighter frame. You could spend a ton of money on fancy stems, CK hubs, etc., etc., but you'd still have a heavy slug of a a frame with slow handling geometery. I started off with a MonoHog, road it for a year and once I was convinced that a slot in my stable would be reserved for an SS I bouht a lighter, more XC oriented frame. Keep in mind that your frame and wheels make the most difference to your ride quality - everything else is fine tuning in comparison.

Urban or Freeride: then your frame is probably fine so maybe something else.

Quote Originally Posted by gelst
    anyone have an grand ideas about how to make my redline monocog better?im a noob at this stuff.just bought some specialized armadillo tires for the street ,have decent rims.i love my bike and wanna upgrade from stock.any help or ideas would be great thanks for your time.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004

bike is used for stret

monocog is used mostly for street,i am looking for possible ways to make bike faster on street,i have no idea what to do and am looking for suggestiona nd products that will help my bike run smoother and faster like better chain? better crank? stuff like that,any help would be gr3eat thanks

Am I getting too bulky?
    A chain and crank aren't gonna do squat for the street. Gearing and tires are your main points to consider.

BTW, the MonoCog is a beautiful bike, and certainly not a hog. The frame is worthy of the best parts available.