Stem length on single speed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Stem length on single speed?

I'm new to the single speed thing. Currently building one right now. Should the stem length on a single speed be the same as my 2x10 mtb?

nothing to see here
    Stem length should be suited to your fit, so if the frames are identical, then the stem should be the same also.

There's no real specific aspect of single speeding which suits either long or short stems. I prefer short stems for better handling, but that would apply to any bike.
    I see hills.

I want to climb them.

mtbr member
    I dunno - what does your 2x10 feel like when you don't shift?

Fat & Single
    If you have went with bikes with the same ETT, use the stem off your 2x10 and see how it feels then start from there.
    Santa Cruz Hightower LT Evil Following Trek 9.9 Superfly SL IndyFab Deluxe 29 Pivot Vault CX Cervelo R3 Disc

mtbr member
    As a starting point, the stem should work in relation to your top tube length and equal what you already have. That's if your gearie is sized correctly.

What i have noticed when going back and forth between the SS and gearie is that i stand and mash more on the SS. This puts me further forward with the same top tube + stem measurement. This will decrease the rear grip on the climbs. This is somewhat compensated by the gearing (bigger gear = less torque). But, for me, a slightly shorter stem works a bit better. It gets me over the rear just a bit more and more force into the ground.

Dive Bomber
    I think bar length is matter than stem length.

You'll need wider bar for stand and hammering pendulum dance thingy.

As for stem length which I recently experiment, consider this is for stand pedaling your arm position as the pivot/center. I change from 60mm to 80mm which is noticeable enough.