Steel ride quality and questions on frames- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2006

Steel ride quality and questions on frames

I have been riding a SS for many many years now and have had quite a few steel frames, mostly they have been 4130 and I had a Columbus Zona custom built frame.

My current frame is a Gen 1 DMR Trailstar which I have been riding for a couple of years and I am looking to upgrade the frame to something lighter weight and more comfortable to ride and more XC orientated.

I see there are many different quality steel frame types on the market now and I dont really know the difference to the types of steel they use.

A friend raves on about True Temper Platinum OSX which he has 2 Kona frames made of. I cant find any frames made of this stuff for sale new or 2nd hand.

I am trying to decide between a Sanderson Soloist 853 or a Soma 4one5 Tange Prestige, both these frame are lightweight (for steel) but which of these 2 would have the best ride quality?

Are there any other SS Specific frames I should be considering? Prequisits are ride quality and lightweight (under 5lbs).
    Last edited by VERT1; 07-15-2010 at 12:18 PM.

Apr 2007
    Ride quality between those two frames will be negligible. I've had 4130, TTOX, etc and really can't tell any difference between them. Just get what fits you.

openwound
    Both 853 and Prestige tube sets are pretty nice and I think you'd be hard-pressed to detect a difference in ride quality between the two -- at least as far as the effect that the frame material has on the ride quality. Does either manufacturer use the high-end tubing in the seat/chain stays? Many manufacturers will use the light stuff in the main triangle and less expensive tubes in the seat & chain stays. Not that that's a bad thing, but it's fairly common, if not the norm.