SSers...A Misunderstood Lot!!!- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

SSers...A Misunderstood Lot!!!

Alright, let me confess right up front that I am not really an SSer just yet...but keep reading. You see, I just got a new FS fully geared ride about 4 months ago, but have recently been exposed to A LOT of SSers and can't afford another ride right away.

So my curiosity was finally peaked enough after doing an 85-mile combo off and on-road ride recently with an SSer who ended up leading the whole way...only problem, since I'm currently a student with a family, I don't have wads of cash around to set up another ride as an SS. And, truth be told, I wasn't quite sure what I would think about SSing in any case. So here's the good part...

Now I'm sure this sounds real dumb to those of you that are dedicated SSers, but I wanted to get a feel for what it's like so on my last few rides I've been riding in a mid-range gear without any shifting. My last two rides have been completely on one gear and it has been a blast...a total different riding experience!

One was through some nice singletrack trails in Minneapolis and the other was just today on a group 50 miler on crushed limestone paths on the historic Elroy-
    Sparta rail-trail (the first one in the country) in Wisconsin.

The funniest part was at the beginning of the ride today when a guy riding with our group found out I was using just one gear and rode up to me and asked in a very concerned voice, "so do you not know how to shift that thing?". I had to chuckle, especially since I've been riding bikes for longer than he's been alive! You should have seen the look on his face after I explained SSing to him and that I was going to do the whole ride in one gear...he just shook his head as he rode away and muttered something underneath his breath that sounded like, "whatever you want to do man, I'm using ALL my gears!"