SSers in AR- Mtbr.com

Thread: SSers in AR

Baron of Gray Matter
    May 2004

SSers in AR

Just wondering how many of us SSers are in AR. I know the state series gets quite a few at each race, good number from out of state. LIke 29ers, SS is becoming more popular around here, so I've got one thats both. I'm live close to the Carp trails at Camp Robinson, though I've not ridden there in a while.

Maybe at some point we should have a SS ride at the Womble or some other killer trail. Except that no trail is as fun as the Womble. I myself would prefer a warmer time of the year for this ride. Or at least above 50F.

Steve
    "Oh Dear, I've been redorkulated."
    Prof. Frink.

Enjoying Every Sandwich
    Not quite yet, but I will be by the end of February. Just need to get the funds in order for cranks and a chain and I am ready to rock.

I have never ridden Womble since I am new to the sport. I usually ride in Fort Smith at Springhill Park (Corps of Engineers Funded and Maintained Trail) and at Old Post Road in Russellville (Another Corps of Engineers Funded and Maintained Trail).

A friend asked me yesterday to ride in the Oauchita Challenge in April. Says they are filling up quick and running out of spots. Ouachita Challenge . Not sure how many SSer are going to do this Tour/Race. Just look at the number of out of staters that have signed up. Amazing. Womble must be awesome.

I read where Bicycling Magazine or another magazine said that if Womble were in California or the Northwest, it would be too crowded to ride. They say its the best in the State and the region. We have a great trail in the middle of the state that is fairly easy to get to. Why I haven't ridden it yet is beyond me.

Have you seen the Arkansas MTB Board? Here it is....
    Last edited by TheBUNKY; 01-27-2005 at 05:25 PM.

aka rockyonekc
    Quote Originally Posted by Homer Simpson