Thread: SS Stem Length

Ahhh the pain....

SS Stem Length

I'm in the process of building up a Lynskey Ridgeline 29r SS and trying to dial in the cockpit. My FS26r is setup more XC with a 120mm stem where the grips are slightly below the seat height. I'm tempted to setup up the SS the same way which would require a 110mm stem since the top tube is a bit longer. Should I be thinking shorter, more upright riding position for a SS ?

Out spokin'
    Personal choice but I like my bars where they're comfortable for multi-mile standing. For me that's right about saddle height. YMMV.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

Teen Wolf
    whatever is most comfortable, make sure you get a ss stem

Low Rep Count
    What ever works for you man. I simply set mine up the same as my xc. Running a 110mm stem simply because my tt is a tad longer as well. I have a 5 degree stem flipped upside down so the stem is almost parallel to the ground and I still ride a straight bar.

Over the bars...
    I set mine up based on bike fit at a shop. I was able to use a 35 degree inverted stem to drop my bars slightly below the saddle. I have no legs and all upper body, when switching to 29 it was an interesting trick to fit a bike comfortably.

Ahhh the pain....
    what is a ss stem ? Never seen SS specific stems....

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by Raybum
    He was giving the OP friendly flack for asking about a non-SS-specific item on the SS board. Happens all the time, usually accompanied by a wink and a giggle, and most frequently over on the 29er board.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

Neg reppers r my biatches
    personal preference....low is good for me now though i guess at about saddle height

i currently only have 1 SS and i run a 70mm stem...whatever

local trails rider
    Personal preference: