SS rigid for a first bike?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2012

SS rigid for a first bike?

Lookin at buying my first bike since I was a kid and trying to get back into Mountain biking. What's y'alls take on this? Not having much luck in the beginners corner.

mtbr member

29er

Definitly get a 29er since your going ridgid. Since its your first try at SS and ridgid buy a used bike maybe around $500-700. If you do get into ss/ridgid, you may want to splurg on a nicer bike and a niner carbon fork makes a big difference, so its ~300fork, $500-1500 for the bike.

Ride da mOOn Moderator

Good job!

Since your getting back into it look at the Redline Monocog...

...go out and ride, take your time, enjoy yourself and the simplicity of SSing!

Guess I should have added I have been riding SS rigid since 2005 and the Redline MC is around 500 bucks! I have a few of them they hold up well, I'm a clyde riding trials type NEPA rocks and roots.

Glad your getting back, Good Luck!

mtbr member
    I started SSing after about 10 months of mtbing. It is my favorite ride. Dependable, easy to maintain, and lighter than my geared rides. Until i finally get a full suspension, it will be my go to bike for nearly every trail i ride.

If i started with a rigid SS, i don't know if i would have continued mtbing when i started. I couldn't climb some of my local hills in my granniest of granny gears. Front suspension really helped to not beat me up as i built up conditioning for longer rides. The geared setup taught me a lot about maintaining my bikes. There are still hills that i climb on my gears that i have to walk on my SS. SS is tough to start with. If you do start with SS, it will make you stronger faster.

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    Not sure what the trails are like around you and what kind of shape your in but a rigid SS may not be the best route. I've been on one now sence Christmas and love it. You will walk and you will be stoved up if your trails are like ours here in WV.