SS newbie- Mtbr.com

Thread: SS newbie

more beers, lees gears.

SS newbie

Sorry I am sure this has been posted 100 times. Any links would be appreciated.

Im a newbie, just bought (my wife actually bought for me) my first SS.

its a redline monocog maybe 2004 (red, no stickers, v brakes only, H dropouts). it seems well taken care of.

The cranks seem to have a double set of teeth. is it so I can change gearing as needed?

What are some tips to get started, I used to ride geared, a lot, probably 30 miles a week on the trails. I know some basics like standing straight up and just cranking up the hills, and such.

Any tools I need to specifically carry? It has a no name deal like a surly tugnut. Is chain drop pretty normal?

(Ali)
    Sep 2006
    Just ride it! It is not very different than geared riding, only no shifting, which proven to have been unnecessary all along, at least where I ride... (SF Bay Area)

There is not a single spot on the trails that I could ride on my geary but I can't on my SS. Whatever I could ride is ridable on the SS, but faster! Whatever I couldn't ride is still nonridable on the SS. (I have 32:17 gearing on 26" wheels.)

A tip that I can think of is (which you will discover yourself quicly anyway), on a steep slow climb, I learned to add my arms into the action by throwing the bike forward with my arms in order to help move the pedals through the dead spots. I am talking about speeds of 2-3 seconds per pedal stroke or slower.

I've always enjoyed being a very skinny person all my life. Now I have real muscles on my legs and arms! Yay!

Ali

more beers, lees gears.
    yeah, most the trails in AZ are seem pretty ridable for an SS. I only ever used 2 or 3 gears max.

more beers, lees gears.
    So what about SS mainanence?

Does the chain wear faster? Is there a difference between SS chains and normal chains?

wot no bike?
    pete

US Army Vet-Airborne 11B

Good job!