is ss harder on rear wheels- Mtbr.com
    pedal me happy
    Oct 2009

is ss harder on rear wheels

I will have a sir 9 soon and eventually want to keep it as a ss and am wondering if
    ss are harder on wheels than one with gears. It seems to me they would be with all
    the standing and powering up stuff would put more stress on them so is it better
    to have a stronger setup than a normal light xc wheel. I am new to ss so I am loving all
    the info on here.

mbtr member
    Going downhill puts a lot more stress on the wheel than going uphill. A SS specific wheel is a sturdier design than a 9sp wheel. No worries.
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."
    Mikhail Kalashnikov

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    A SS specific wheel has to have less dish then a geared rear wheel.
    Much stronger then a converted cassette.
    Riding one gear wears harder on the drive train though.

- factotum -
    I seem to wear out cartridge bearings in the hubs more often on my singlespeed bikes than on the geared ones. Front and rear.

Maybe this is due to out-of-saddle riding...? or: Maybe this is because I don't ride my geared bikes often enough? I don't know.

I switched back to hubs with cup-and-cone bearings (whereever possible) which seem to last longer (at least for me)

Mtbr Forum Sponsor - Homebrewed Components
    Jul 2006
    Quote Originally Posted by Pooh Bear
    I seem to wear out cartridge bearings in the hubs more often on my singlespeed bikes than on the geared ones. Front and rear.

Maybe this is due to out-of-saddle riding...? or: Maybe this is because I don't ride my geared bikes often enough? I don't know.

I switched back to hubs with cup-and-cone bearings (whereever possible) which seem to last longer (at least for me)
    i'm the other way around, i cant get cup and cone hubs to stay tight to save my life. I've tried everything, even loctite.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008