SS Cog/Chain Management- Mtbr.com
    Rohloff

SS Cog/Chain Management

I'm new to SSing. I sometimes ride some steep, loose, hilly terrain and sometimes flatter hard pack. I'm thinking about changing gearing. I don't want to fuss with this too much but I'd like some options. How do you manage this? Seperate chains and cogs that go together or do you add and remove links? It seems that adding and removing pins would create weak points in the chain. Do quicklinks work well on SS?

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Are you gearing up pre-ride or looking to make changes midstream? dinglespeed potential?

edit:

Upon dropping the beer & focusing... I keep another chain at the ready for my 'running about town' cog. A couple master links & all is well.

(I suspect a short add-on length would be sufficient as well... considering usage/chain wear.)
    Last edited by steven.c; 12-10-2010 at 08:05 PM.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by bsdc
    I'm new to SSing. I sometimes ride some steep, loose, hilly terrain and sometimes flatter hard pack. I'm thinking about changing gearing. I don't want to fuss with this too much but I'd like some options. How do you manage this? Seperate chains and cogs that go together or do you add and remove links? It seems that adding and removing pins would create weak points in the chain. Do quicklinks work well on SS?
    I have 16, 17, 18, 20T cogs, and 3 chains. The 16, 17/18, and 20. I could add a 15 and 19 to that without adding a chain. There is 1 link difference between each adjacent chain.

However, my concern is that the sprocket isn't swapped, and could cause premature wear on the other chain/cogs.

There are only a couple races where 20 is necessary, and will try to use 16 most of next season. This is my first year SS, so I was dabbling with which gears suit local courses.

I don't know if it is the best solution, but it is what I have.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    Get a gear changer? I hear there are 9 speeds these days.