SS: 26 v. 29 - help me out here....- Mtbr.com
    Bodhisattva

SS: 26 v. 29 - help me out here....

I'm in the decision making process over whether to get a SS 26 v. 29er.
    Thinking of going with a nice blingy Moots Mooto or Rigor Mootis.

I have no experience on the 29er but can conceptually grasp the benefits, particularly on a SS, and hope to get a demo in soon from Moots.

Was wondering what the collective thoughts of the Borg would yield.

26 v. 29 ....please discuss.

Don't be a sheep
    Sep 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by The Squeaky Wheel

I have no experience on the 29er but can conceptually grasp the benefits, particularly on a SS, and hope to get a demo in soon from Moots.

If I was going custom Single I'd go 29'er, the way I figure it, your already going fringe bike might as well fly the freak flag a little more. I however draw the line of being freaky at the expense of the riding experience, i.e. weird components or drivetrain.
    "Do not touch the trim"

jl
    climb
    BEWARE! If you get a 29"er you'll be auctioning off that 26" old-school-horst bling machine, and beggin' for a new improved non-horst 29" version. Make sure you budget wisely.
    We don't need more to be thankful for; we just need to be more thankful.

Bodhisattva
    Quote Originally Posted by jl
    Make sure you budget wisely.
    Not one of my better life skills.
    Jeff, you missed a nice ride last night up Thompson canyon.

jl
    climb
    Couldn't make it. I'm playing single-parent bachelor-dad for a week. I'm hoping to do some "burly" rides today ...
    We don't need more to be thankful for; we just need to be more thankful.

Belltown Brazer

The momentum-carrying abilities of the big wheels go hand-in-hand with the single speed riding style.

After a year on the big wheels, I've ridden my 26" a couple of times lately. I was dumbstruck by just how much you have to pedal those little wheels to keep things moving.