Soma Juice Frame Creak- Mtbr.com
    President of the Internet

Soma Juice Frame Creak

I've been chasing a creak on my Some Juice for a few months. I'm no newbie to chasing creaks and clicks, but this one has me stumped. I have tighten and greased every piece possible. Finally I had the rear wheel out and was able to replicate the creak by putting a hand on each seat stay an twisting or pushing them side to side. So, this leads me to believe its in the frame itself. I inspected all the welds and can't seem to find a crack. Any ideas?
    Sometimes you eat the trail, sometimes the trail eats you.

Thinking of buying a home?
    http://Search-Sacramento-Homes.com

aka "SirLurkAlot"
    Mar 2010
    Creaks suck. I've chased a few in my day and they can be like ghosts.

Based on what you've stated, it does sound like the frame. The stays will flex at the weakest pivot point so I would check the junction of the stays to the BB as well as the seat tube and the junctions at the dropouts. It's probably really small at the moment and masked by paint.

Ask a friend to help and let them flex it while you watch. You could also use an automotive stethoscope and slowly move it closer and closer. The cheap Harbor Freight one should work.

I've never tried this but you could spray fluid in the BB, flex it while holding it inverted and look for it to seep out.

That's about all I have for suggestions. Best of luck and let us know how it goes.

WillWorkForTrail
    Two things - how was your frame secured while you were twisting on the seat stays? There's a chance that could have been creaking, or that the point you had it secured could help locate where you might want to be looking for a problem. The other thing is - the seat post itself. Any chance the post is having some interaction with the seat tube that's causing the noise?

Honestly, every time my Juice has made noise it's either been the cranks, the BB or the chain ring. I've never had the sliders made noise.

mtbr member