Solely SingleSpeed?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

New question here. Solely SingleSpeed?

Hi guys

I'm having issues again! I have been riding SS for over 5 years now, i started as i was so sick of my gears needing constant attention often to the detriment of enjoying a ride. I currently have my brand new Orange P7 setup as a SS which replaced my Soul Cycles Hooligan.

However, Soul are sending me a new Dillinger 29r and rigid fork as a warranty replacement for my Hooligan as I over tightened the grub screw on its EBB. This leaves me with a quandary, I'm thinking about running gears (XT 2x10)) on my P7 as a lot of the longer Moor rides that we do over in the UK certainly can take their tole on a SSer and as none of my friends ride SS I'm thinking the P7 being my most comfortable bike and the one I'm more likely to choose for the long haul stuff it's the one i should go back to the dark side on.

I'm just wondering though, do you guys run gears on any of your bikes? I feel like I'm selling out and I'm not sure I'll even enjoy it if I do?!!

Wow I wish it wasn't snowing anymore as instead of sweating over what i spend my money on next I'd be out actually riding my bike!

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Ride what makes you happy. As much as I'd love to ride a rigid SS everywhere, it just doesn't make sense. Not for me, at least. That's why I keep more than one bike.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by jtemple
    Ride what makes you happy. As much as I'd love to ride a rigid SS everywhere, it just doesn't make sense. Not for me, at least. That's why I keep more than one bike.
    This is what I Mean though, I'm not sure gears will make me happy when all i will want is the fun of always being in the right gear (because you only have one!).

Saying that, I only recently started entertaining suspension forks again and I love them on my P7, maybe I'll feel the same yet I'll still relish the chance to get on my SS and rigid 29r?! Who knows?!

Apr 2007