mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Slight homage to Rainman...

I snuck out for a single-speed ride today (total newbie). I rode my Schwinn Moab with gears, since all my parts for conversion aren't here yet (some are even back-ordered). Here are some stats:

32x21 gearing, which is about 41 gear inches of pain

3 coyotees (although 1 was likely a repeat) The first one wasn't scared of me, but I was scared enough of him to not stop climbing up a long steep section. Ouch!

2.4 lungs coughed up

2 major and 6 minor heart attacks

felt like puking at least twice

1 blown quad (right)

1 blown knee (left)

tired feet = both

total time of 62 minutes

total time gasping for breath = 52 minutes

1 smile of self-satisfaction

I still think that hardest part of SS riding is not the steep climbs (you can either do them or walk), but the slight inclines after a hard climb (and elsewhere) where if you try and sit down you won't move...

Out spokin'

One of the beauties...

Quote Originally Posted by Wish I Were Riding
    ... I still think that hardest part of SS riding is not the steep climbs (you can either do them or walk), but the slight inclines after a hard climb (and elsewhere) where if you try and sit down you won't move...
    ...of singlespeeding regularly. Eventually you'll discover that you've gained the ability to climb while out of the saddle for extended periods.

Like, miles.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sparticus
    ...of singlespeeding regularly. Eventually you'll discover that you've gained the ability to climb while out of the saddle for extended periods.

Like, miles.

--Sparty
    How right you are Sparty. I'm reminded of the story of Cindy Whitehead breaking a seatpost or saddle 1 mile into a 50 mile race. She stood up for 49 miles, and won, if memory serves (subject to correction). This happened at least ten years ago. Simply amazing!