Retro Grouch

Size does matter; aka beating a dead horse..

Well I've been riding my SS with 175mm crank arms for about 3 months; even did a race with them. Yesterday I re-installed the 180's and did a ride today. How 5mm could make so much difference amazes me. Granted I rode the 180's for 4 years and kind of got used to them, but today's ride was so much better I find it difficult to explain. I know I've read that all you need to do is go up a tooth on your rear cog and it's the same; well no it's not. I'm sure it has something to do with the length of your femur and tibia and the type of muscles you have (slow or fast switch) but apparently god meant me to ride with 180's.

As an aside I buggered the bottom bracket threads installing my old square taper BB; I hate that! But I have an eccentric BB and since the BB was on its way out anyway, a new BB and insert for the split housing, came to less than $50 with shipping! Now that's cool.

1G1G, Brad
    Last edited by aka brad; 08-03-2005 at 02:51 PM.

paintbucket
    I ride 175s, and always have. But people keep telling me to go big. Hmmm....

I haven't because I worry about pedal strikes. Easily adjusted for I guess though. If they made 180mm LX cranks I'd probably go for it.
    When the going gets weird its bedtime.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by wooglin
    I ride 175s, and always have. But people keep telling me to go big. Hmmm....

I haven't because I worry about pedal strikes. Easily adjusted for I guess though. If they made 180mm LX cranks I'd probably go for it.
    I used 180s on my old Voodoo for several years and was always grounding the pedals. Switched to 185s and I rarely hit the pedals. Don't know why, but true.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

cut like the fog.

I went back....