SingleSpeed for New Riders- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

SingleSpeed for New Riders

Ok so i realize there might be some redundancy here and i hope i dont get 40 lashes though 38 i strangely find acceptable...so a little background first...I am new to mountain biking as in the last couple of months and yes the rock i made my home under is quite heavy. I am completely smitten with the sport though i currently suck but am getting better everyday. I have a hardtail giant yukon geared. So the question is this: after some research i really want to try a singlespeed. i am one who is out there for the exercise and being on the bike and trail. i often stop to just enjoy the view (and take a breath). is a singlespeed a good idea for a rank beginner?

mtbr member
    I'm a shameless beginner as well. My first "real" bike was a rigid SS 29er (Dawes Deadeye) I purchased over the winter. I've been riding it since before the snow broke, and I absolutely love it. Singlespeed was challenging at first; everything I read on here applied. I had to get off and walk some places, I lost my cadence and momentum frequently and had some good little crashes as a result. However the result is I'm quickly becoming a stronger rider, the way the SS/rigid efficiently puts down power is addictive, especially climbing (especially climbing on group ride alongside a bunch of geared riders!).

For myself I don't have any regrets. I should maybe include, after the first 2 ride I sprung for clipless pedals, which I was also new to, and found they REALLY expand the capabilities of the bike - or the rider I guess. In places where you lose momentum and need to really put down power, and on steep climbs, they are absolutely a game changer. I'd ridden on and off for years with flat pedals, and I felt like I needed to shout from the rooftops about them.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010