Singlespeed chainrings...how are they unique?- Mtbr.com
    Warp speed, Mr. Sulu!

Singlespeed chainrings...how are they unique?

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to SS and I'm in the process of customizing a 2015 Kona Unit that I recently picked up.

I'm interested in replacing the FSA Comet boat anchor of a crank that came with it with something lighter. It seems that most of the single ring cranks I'm seeing online have a narrow wide ring on them and I've been told they are incompatible with the KMC Z610 chain I've put on it.

Are there any cranks like this that come with an SS compatible chainring?

Thanks in advance for your help!
    Last edited by Pucker Factor; 12-08-2016 at 08:12 AM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2013
    Your KMZ Z610 will work perfectly fine with a narrow/wide ring.

mtbr member
    Interested to hear who told you that chain is incompatible with narrow/wide chainrings, and why. It should work fine.

It wouldn't be my choice for a singlespeed chain, but it should work fine.

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    N/W rings often have an 11 or 10 speed chain specification but it is only related to chain retention when on derailleur bikes and operating at angles.

any 3/32 chain should work fine.

mtbr member
    Basically a chainring intended for a derailleur is designed to allow the chain to slide off easily.

I can testify this is not a good thing for male single speeders.

A SS ring has taller teeth and no cutaways that allow derailment.
    As little bike as possible, as silent as possible.
    Latitude: 5736' Highlands, Scotland

Warp speed, Mr. Sulu!
    Thanks for all of your responses. I had been looking at a RaceFace Aeffect crank on Chain Reaction Cycles web site and I inquired about the chain ring it was equipped with before ordering anything.

This was the response from a CRC staffer...