Singlespeed - 26 or 29er?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Nov 2011

Singlespeed - 26 or 29er?

After way way to much research, I have narrowed my singlespeed search down to the Redline Monocog. But now I have to decide between a good deal on a second hand 26" or a brand new 29er. I have had hardtails of both wheel sizes in the past and pretty much favoured the 26", hence the 29er was sold.

However, everything I have read tends to point towards the 29er as bike of choice for singlespeed riding. Since I am new to the whole singlespeed scene, I am stuck.

Are 29ers that much better for singlespeed riding?

Which size wheel should I go for in regards to the type of riding I will be doing which will be just local single track and some general bush bashing shenanigans.

mtbr member
    I personally prefer 26" for SS, couple that to a rigid and they feel like big BMX bikes which to me, adds to the fun

mtbr member
    the general consensus seems to be that 29ers are preferred for all sorts of XC type riding. look through the single-speed photo thread. if you exclude the bikes that are obviously budget-built conversions of old bikes and focus on the bikes that seem intentional for "serious" trail riding, everything is going toward 29ers. I work at a bike shop and we don't even stock any 26" mountain bikes except for the entry-level bikes that probably won't see trails anyways.

that said, many people ,myself included, have some bikes or a pile of tires, forks, and wheels that they no longer use because they ride their 29ers exclusively now. so if you're into the 26er thing, it will be easy to find cheap used parts to upgrade your bike.

Ovaries on the Outside
    Fuuuuck

one chain loop
    i think less and less people will experience 26" SS just because less and less manufacturers make them. unless you get second hand manufactured years ago.