should i go ss and HOW?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

should i go ss and HOW?

so the answer to the "should" part of my question is already a resounding YES in my mind. i built up a beater fixed gear bike and i am absolutely addicted to the thing. i've ridden my mtb recently, and it just makes me think - what the *&^# do i need all those friggin gears for?

so the second part of my question is a bit more complicated...as i alluded to, i currently own a multispeed mtb. however, i realized not too long ago that i'm pretty sure it's never really fit me right (despite the fact that i've been riding it for about 7 years now...sigh) - i think the top tube is a little too long, and i would need a crazy short stem to make it more comfy for me (it's already got a pretty short one, like 95mm or so).

so i'm thinking i'll pick up a new frame - and this opens up an entire can of worms, particularly since i'm a student and have a "limited cash flow". i'm thinking maybe i'll just sell the old bike and build up a ss from scratch. if i can get maybe 700 for the old one, i figure i'd be able to build a pretty sweet ss, with a decent fork up front and all the tricked out ss parts (truvativ crank, probably surly hubs, etc., etc...) i found what seems to be a decent no name ss specific (w/ track ends - so no tensioner needed...) frame on ebay, so that would be a good start...

but where do i go from there? and is that the good place to start? i find myself gazing longingly at my old and oversized, but trusty, loyal, and full-of-memories multispeed mtb wondering if i can/should really part with it. maybe i should just use as many parts from it as i can (wheels, fork, stem, maybe crankset) and convert what's left into..i don't even know what...