Should I go Clipless?- Mtbr.com
    Single Speed Nation

Should I go Clipless?

Right,

I learned how to ride on flats. I've been riding nothing but for the last 15 years. I run 66 Pedals with massive spikes that stick to the underside of my soft-soled skate shoe, and have never had problems. I've never had difficulty climbing hills on my geared bike.

The reason I never really switched over to clipless was that I was always a little more of an aggressive rider. My main ride for the last 8 years was a freeride hardtail that would take all the abuse I could dish at it. I enjoyed the freedom that flat pedals offered me. Quicker 'release' reflexes (just lift your foot off the pedal) easier to get started in sticky situations (no need to clip in after you've just dabbed on that log-ride) and so on.

Now that I have a rigid singlespeed, however, it seems to me that I'll need to maximize my energy efficiency through cadence, and especially on the hills, being able to power through the entire pedal stroke seems advantageous. I think my riding style will become less about sheer brute force, and more about finessing, i.e. less aggressive.

Should I drop the platform pedals that I have so much enjoyed over the last 15 years and go over to the dark side of clipless pedals?

Or will flat pedals offer me almost as much as clipless, while still retaining the carefree attitude that I've so enjoyed all these years?

It might just be my crazy head speaking, but to me flats have always enjoyed a carefree liberalness that clipless pedals can't. Look at me now, I'm personifying pedals. This IS rock bottom.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by great_big_abyss
    Should I go Clipless?
    Yes.
    Ride more!

mtbr member