Severe chain skip on a brand new build- Mtbr.com
    Any given singletrack!

Severe chain skip on a brand new build

Hi guys, I'm new to SS and I've got some issues with my bike. Under just a slightly stronger load my chain skips heavily. Chain, sprocket and cog are brand new. Both sprocket and cog are SS specific with long teeth. I run 34/16 and have chain tensioner with the shortest possible chain length - there is no way to get more chain wrap. So where's the problem?

Is it possible entire cog is skipping on a freehub?
    Severe chain skip on a brand new build-20171108_222415.jpg
    Severe chain skip on a brand new build-20171108_222426.jpg

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    You may have too little chain wrap around the cog, try running the spring opposite on your tensioner, also is that shimano hub new or is it old and used?

Any given singletrack!
    Hub is old, it has aroun 9k km on it. I'm not sure this tensioner can be set to push the chain upward.. I'll have to see.

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    You might look at the freehub it might be the culprit, some of those shimano freehubs prematurely gave up the ghost and start skipping.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    That is not much chain-wrap, and using the tensioner in the push-up direction will most likely hit the chainstay. I think you will need to use a half-link if that is the shortest chain that fits. Hopefully you don't have a narrow-wide chainring.

I've had good luck with the Gusset SLink half link. Are you using a KMC X8 chain? The 3/32" Slink can join with the X8 using the Missing Link I (7.3mm) or traditional 3/32" single speed master links.

Life's a Garden, dig it!
    As others have said, tensioner should be used in the push up position. Now, if you can find one, I highly recommend a Soulcraft Convert tensioner, but they are out of production. They can be found once in awhile on the used market. It doesn't rely on spring tension. It's indexed into place and super easy to install and adjust.