Rigid steel 27.5 build options- Mtbr.com
    Back on the wagon

Rigid steel 27.5 build options

I've been riding almost exclusively rigid SS bikes for the past 10 years now, and I think it may have finally sunk into my thick skull that stepping up in wheel size might not be a bad idea. I've been way out of the new tech loop for the past 6 years (since my first kid was born), and feel like I know nothing about all this newfangled stuff out there.

Here's what I'm used to: longer top tube, shorter chain stays. 80 mm sus corrected fork (429 A-C Vicious) for about 70 deg head angle. Mavic 829 UST rims & Scwalbe Fat Albert rear, Conti Mtn King front.

How does that setup translate to 27.5? I've heard all kinds of things about how fork trail is different on 27.5s, so head angle should be more slack, etc, etc. Anyone here make the switch and have advice/suggestions?

What frames should I consider? Which 27.5 rims/tires are good tubeless options?

The only thing I'm sure of right now is whatever I get will have Hadley hubs!
    RIDE HARD, live easy.

mtbr member
    Shot in the dark: soma b-side. Kona Explosif might work too.

Downcountry AF
    Soma B-side is the only thing that comes to mind. but i know nothing of 27.5, other than its not for me.

any reason why your not considering a 29er? IMO it's better at everything, and you have a lot more options.
    Rigid SS 29er
    SS 29+
    Fat Lefty
    SS cyclocross
    Full Sus 29er (Yuck)

Stop asking how much it weighs and just go ride it.

Back on the wagon
    Quote Originally Posted by BENKD29 View Post
    Soma B-side is the only thing that comes to mind. but i know nothing of 27.5, other than its not for me.

any reason why your not considering a 29er? IMO it's better at everything, and you have a lot more options.