Rigid on downhills = slow,bumpy,endoing feeling. Anyway to improve?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Rigid on downhills = slow,bumpy,endoing feeling. Anyway to improve?

As the thread title says. The Bukit Timah Trail consists of rooty, rocky downhill with some eroded sections that really make rigid scary to ride!

Other then changing back to a suspension fork, any other way to improve this? Im using a soft compound ODI Cush grips now. Am thinking if getting a 670 mm kind of wide riser bar to replace my carbon Easton ec70 flat bars.

Technique? Im riding a 26er btw... I feel like Im really slow on the downhills. And its no longer fun. Its scary.

Welcome to the Gem...
    you just can't handle it... get a suspension fork, and put some gears on your bike.
    Ibis Tranny 29

Birthday Collector
    Get a 29'er... :D
    R.I.P. Corky 10/97-4/09
    Disclaimer: I sell and repair bikes for a living

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Mallanaga
    you just can't handle it... get a suspension fork, and put some gears on your bike.
    +1

and get a 29er.

mtbr member
    bit harsh guys! I'd go back to suspension if I was you dude! No need to add gears but maybe to much of a change.... one step at a time, maybe go to some 80mm fox forks to get use to less travel!

Risers, wide bars and a short stem works wonders too on steering but thats heading to DH setups.
    Custom Giant OCR T-Mobile Edition
    On-One Scandal 29'er Project on the go

mbtr member
    Suspension forks do an awesome job of dealing with that bumpy feeling. Get an old fox X fork and have it all.

Some frame designs work better riding rigid.

A big cushy tire with low pressure does all right.

Raising the bars a bit.

Sliding your seat back, surprisingly.

Some rigid forks are flexier than others, and it helps.

High quality lightweight bars have a bit of give to them. 710mm+ is my style.

Girvin Flexstem.
    "Things that are complex are not useful, Things that are useful are simple."