Riding SS with local MTB group - your thoughts?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2009

Riding SS with local MTB group - your thoughts?

I'm not a novice cyclist by any means, but I am relatively new to MTB. I initially found MTB frustrating because geared bikes can require so much time and money to maintain when used locally (I live on the escarpment in Ontario, Canada - lots of elevation changes, lots of rocks, big tree root systems and plenty of mud). I've recently acquired a Kona Explosif SS and have been very satisfied with the simplicity and lack of requisite maintenance. I'm interested in joining a local riding group that does recreational- and intermediate-level rides in the local trail system. I suspect that most of the riders are using multi-speed bikes. Do any of you ride SS with a local MTB group? If so, can you describe your experience? Can you offer any tips to someone who has never ridden MTB with a group?
    Last edited by datalore; 03-07-2010 at 05:18 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    There will be limits to what you can ride on the steep uphills, but nowhere near as many as you might expect.

On the climbs, when the clan all drop into granny gear, you'll find that they are moving too slowly and you may stall, or simply have to move forward in the pack if it's possible.

I ride casual stuff with gearies and it's no drama, if they are having a "prove what we can do" day with ultra fast descents and ultra steep climbs it's a lot less fun, but for straight recreational rides I expect you'll be fine.

Get your chainline straight, your tension right, decent cogs and chain and you'll be amazed at how efficient SS can be.
    Last edited by Fullrange Drew; 03-19-2010 at 07:44 PM.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by Fullrange Drew
    There will be limits to what you can ride on the steep uphills, but nowhere near as many as you might expect.