removing cogs- Mtbr.com

Thread: removing cogs

mtbr member
    Jun 2005

removing cogs

I am new to SS and have partially converted a bike but left the extra cogs in the cassette until I gave it a try. I am now ready to get rid of the extra cogs, if I can.
    The question is:
    Do I need a special tool to take the cassette apart?

Steamroller

probably

Quote Originally Posted by Dsmith
    I am new to SS and have partially converted a bike but left the extra cogs in the cassette until I gave it a try. I am now ready to get rid of the extra cogs, if I can.
    The question is:
    You will most likely need a cassette lockring tool and a chain whip, or freewheel tool depending if the ratcheting mechanism is part of the hub or part of the cassette. Look at the drive side of the rear hub and see if you have the lockring there, it should be an internally splined ring that often has an arrow and a torque spec printed on it. The cassette may remove as a complete unit requiring more work to seperate the cogs or it may come apart into single cogs and or paired or grouped cogs. It should not be a big deal but you may want to borrow the tool or have your LBS do it if you don't expect to do this often.

You may be better off removing the entire cassette and putting an SS specific cog on once you have the size dialed.
    Last edited by Mattman; 06-18-2005 at 05:47 PM. Reason: add other info
    Two Wheeled and Too Big

17.5" pistons of love
    Jun 2005

get a cog...

The question is: