Redline as 26" Cruiser- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Redline as 26" Cruiser

So I am looking for something cheap to cruise streets, run errands, jump curbs, etc. Kind of a 26" bmx bike for an adult. Does the Monocog fit the bill pretty well? I am new to ss'ing so any help would be appreciated.

King Pin

Smile

The MonoCog is just a bit portly....but hella strong!

Just remember, once you are bitten by the SS/Fixie bug, there's no going back!

Enjoy.

Where's Toto?
    Yes. Only thing better for pub crawling, coffee snatching, and pie chasing is an old Schwinng Cruiser. Redline is pretty good bang for the buck too.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by endure26
    Yes. Only thing better for pub crawling, coffee snatching, and pie chasing is an old Schwinng Cruiser. Redline is pretty good bang for the buck too.
    I like the Kona Humuhumunukunukuapua'a Deluxe.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

hands up who wants to die
    Yeah - I have an 04 Monocog with the cool decals that's set up for that. I bought it a little small (17", and I'm 6'), put a Redline BMX stem and some .243 Racing cruiser bars on it. Changed out the tires for Kenda K-Rads and removed the front brake. I love it!!
    I also went with a larger front chainring, so that I'm running 36/16, which is great for around town.

the Monocog is a nice little bike for a deal, but there are lots of other nice cruisers out there if you want to drop major cash...

-rob

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    rpet - can you post a photo? I am thinking about a similar set up and would like to see what yours looks like.

Sure man. I don't have one handy, but can try to get something for ya tonight.

It's a neat bike for the money, and is plenty trail-worthy too (though I'd throw on a suspension fork and discs, personally).

-rob

mtbr member
    Feb 2004