Rear Cog's Steel, Aluminum, or Ti- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2009

Rear Cog's Steel, Aluminum, or Ti

I was thinking of changing my rear cog, and I was wondering what material held up the best Steel, Aluminum, or Ti.

I currently have a Surly 22t, but I think I am ready to drop down a tooth to 21t.

mtbr member
    Simple answer....steel.
    Aluminium isn't up to it for a rear cog, and while titanium is lighter than steel it's not as strong.
    I use the On-One groove armada cogs, super strong cro-mo.

Feeling retro..but Jung
    my DA cassette is alu and ti it seems to hold up..my SS cog is steel...long term durability steel..but dont rule any out..

mtbr member

Steel

I've found aluminum does wear quicker. For fully-geared bikes, aluminum is fine since wear is more distributed. I have no experience with ti.

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    ti and aluminum dont hold up well but are both very light.
    jesus rides a fixed gear.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by KonaEnduroJC
    ti and aluminum dont hold up well but are both very light.
    Ti SS cogs are known for holding up for a very long time. It is a much harder material than aluminum. I would always choose steel over Ti though, but that is simply based on price

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    Thanks for the input, looks like I will just stick with the Surly, and get a 21t. Thanks!

Beware the Blackbuck!
    Mar 2008
    I'm sure ti holds up well, but I have a feeling ti longevity has a lot to do with how often people are changing out their chains to keep from ruining an 80 dollar cog...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowsCast
    I'm sure ti holds up well, but I have a feeling ti longevity has a lot to do with how often people are changing out their chains to keep from ruining an 80 dollar cog...
    I don't know the numbers off the top of my head, but titanium is pretty similar in hardness and strength to stainless steel.

mtbr member
    Oct 2009