Question? Please don't make fun of me. Alu. vs. Steel.- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2004

New question here. Question? Please don't make fun of me. Alu. vs. Steel.

I'm pretty new to the whole SS thing. I ride a converted Rockhopper that I really enjoy. I notice that most racers of the geared type are riding Alu. frames. My frame is also, obviously Alu. and I like it's ride. I would think that the weight savings over a well made steel frame are not that much. Why do we not see more steel race (especially XC) frame if the ride is better. Being new to SS, I can't tell a lot of difference between steel and Alu. I do notice a slight bit more stiffness with the Alu, but it certainly would not make me stray from an Alu bike that I liked. Part of my reasoning for getting the Rockhopper, other than the chainstay length, was that I get a fairly light weight frame. I knew I was going to convert it. My other choice was the Mono Cog but it is heavy in comparison. Does the ride of steel offset the weight difference? I'm just curious. The only "explaination" you hear is "steel is real". Can someone give me some more insight?

Thank you,

Tim

Faster Than Your TV!

Caution;  Merge;  Workers Ahead! Man, what a jackass!!!...

Quote Originally Posted by Timber