Phil wood ebb vs niner bio centric- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Phil wood ebb vs niner bio centric

Hi!

Finally I decide to buy a steve potts titanium 29er single speed frame.
    Sliding dropouts or ebb? I use a disc brakes
    wich is the best ebb?
    Chain or belt drive? I like use 32x20
    Thanks

Out spokin'
    Quote Originally Posted by voodood-jab
    Hi!

wich is the best ebb?
    Thanks
    There is only one EBB worth considering IMO, and that is a split shell (pinch bolt) type EBB. I have been using one for the past eight years and it has been trouble free and completely quiet. I've grown tired of hearing about all the problems with all other types of EBBs.

And if you asked me if I would go with a split shell EBB over sliding dropouts if I were buying a new custom frame tomorrow, I would say probably. The Black Cat style pivoting dropouts seem really nifty to me, too.

My roommate got a belt drive Spot a couple months ago. The jury's out. It slips occasionally on super steeps, and he has the tension REALLY tight. He's concerned that it may be so tight that it could be causing premature wear on his CK BB &/or CK hub. Time will tell.

Personally, I have no problem with a chain.

Good luck making the decisions that I wish I got to make.

--Sparty
    disciplesofdirt.org

We don't quit riding because we get old.
    We get old because we quit riding.

Harmonius Wrench
    Second vote for a split shell EBB. Mine has been trouble free now going on three years. I have an ambivalence towards sliders. They work okay, but I do not like the look at all.