Pedals and knees- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Pedals and knees

Hi,

I am relatively new to single speeding (about 1 year). I am slowly riding it more than my xcross rig, depending on my mood. I enjoy the SS bike a lot. I recently moved to an area with more steeper hills on the weekl;y rides. I can clear the entire trail with my single speed and I muscle through the steep sections, but my knees really the effects later that night.

I have read that pedals could be part of the problem...I am running Times now. Should I look into new pedals or am I just building up new muscles, etc and the pain will go away? Basically, I do not want to damage my knees (which I feel are healthy) and I enjoy the single speed riding...solutions please?

Thanks!

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Quote Originally Posted by Dude!
    Hi,

I am relatively new to single speeding (about 1 year). I am slowly riding it more than my xcross rig, depending on my mood. I enjoy the SS bike a lot. I recently moved to an area with more steeper hills on the weekl;y rides. I can clear the entire trail with my single speed and I muscle through the steep sections, but my knees really the effects later that night.

I have read that pedals could be part of the problem...I am running Times now. Should I look into new pedals or am I just building up new muscles, etc and the pain will go away? Basically, I do not want to damage my knees (which I feel are healthy) and I enjoy the single speed riding...solutions please?

Thanks!
    Lower your gearing a bit.
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

Faster Than Your TV!

Check...

Hi,

Thanks!
    your saddle height and fore/aft position...too low/far forward can put extra stress on your knees.